The Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission for the States of Manipur & Mizoram (JERC) was constituted by the Central Government under the provisions of Sub-section(5) of Section 83 of the Electricity Act, 2003 (36 of 2003) vide Govt. of India F. No. 23/3/2002-R&R dt. 18th January, 2005 notified in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary dt.18th January, 2005. This was as a result of the need felt by the States of Manipur & Mizoram for creation of an independent Electricity Regulatory Commission to regulate the affairs of power sector in these States and accordingly, these two States have agreed to authorize Government of India to constitute a Joint Commission as per Memorandum of Agreement dt. 23rd July, 2004 among the Government of India and the States of Manipur and Mizoram. The JERC (M&M) is a body corporate having perpetual succession and a common seal, with power to acquire, hold and dispose of property, both movable and immovable and to contract and shall by the said name, sue and be sued. In addition, the Joint Commission is a quasi-judicial body.

                As stipulated under the said Memorandum of Agreement, the Headquarters of the Joint Commission is at Aizawl and the Commission consists of two Members, one each from the participating States. It is agreed that the Chairperson shall be appointed from among the Members by rotation for tenure of one year and the Member selected for the State of Manipur will be first Chairperson of the Joint Commission. Two Members of the Commission were appointed on 17th Dec, 2007 and assumed the office on 24th Jan/2008 after having been administered oath of office and secrecy by the Union Hon’ble Minister (Power). (READ MORE)



GoM News


Circulars & Orders

Press Releases


© Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission for The States Of Manipur & Mizoram

This website belongs to the Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission, for the States of Manipur & Mizoram | Template by ICT