The Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission for the States of Manipur & Mizoram (JERC) was constituted by the Central Government under the provisions of Sub-section(5) of Section 83 of the Electricity Act, 2003 (36 of 2003) vide Govt. of India F. No. 23/3/2002-R&R dt. 18th January, 2005 notified in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary dt.18th January, 2005. This was as a result of the need felt by the States of Manipur & Mizoram for creation of an independent Electricity Regulatory Commission to regulate the affairs of power sector in these States and accordingly, these two States have agreed to authorize Government of India to constitute a Joint Commission as per Memorandum of Agreement dt. 23rd July, 2004 among the Government of India and the States of Manipur and Mizoram. The JERC (M&M) is a body corporate having perpetual succession and a common seal, with power to acquire, hold and dispose of property, both movable and immovable and to contract and shall by the said name, sue and be sued. In addition, the Joint Commission is a quasi-judicial body.

         As stipulated under the said Memorandum of Agreement, the Headquarters of the Joint Commission is at Aizawl and the Commission consists of two Members, one each from the participating States. It is agreed that the Chairperson shall be appointed from among the Members by rotation for tenure of one year and the Member selected for the State of Manipur will be first Chairperson of the Joint Commission. Two Members of the Commission were appointed on 17th Dec, 2007 and assumed the office on 24th Jan/2008 after having been administered oath of office and secrecy by the Union Hon’ble Minister (Power).


Functions of State Commission:-


1. The State Commission shall discharge the following functions, namely -

Determine the tariff for generation, supply, transmission and wheeling of electricity, wholesale, bulk or retail, as the case may be, within the State. Provided that where open access has been permitted to a category of consumers under section 42, the State Commission shall determine only the wheeling charges and surcharge thereon, if any, for the said category of consumers regulate electricity purchase and procurement process of the distribution licensees including the price at which electricity shall be procured from the generating companies or licensees or from other sources through agreements for purchase of power for distribution and supply within the State Facilitate intra-State transmission and wheeling of electricity Issue licensees to persons seeking to act as transmission licensees, distribution licensees and electricity traders with respect to their operations within the State Promote cogeneration and generation of electricity from renewable sources of energy by providing suitable measures for connectivity with the grid and sale of electricity to any person, and also specify for purchase of electricity from such sources, a percentage of the total consumption of electricity in the area of a distribution licensee Adjudicate upon the disputes between the licensees and generating companies and to refer any dispute for arbitration Levy fee for the purposes of this Act Specify State Grid Code consistent with the Grid Code specified under clause (h) of sub-section


(1)   section 79 Specify or enforce standards with respect to quality, 

        continuity and reliability of service by licensees Fix the trading  

        margin  in the intra-State trading of electricity, if considered,  

        necessary Discharge such other functions as may be assigned to it  

        under this Act.

2.    The State Commission shall advice the State Government on all or 

        any of the following matters, namely:-

Promotion of competition, efficiency and economy in activities of the electricity industry.

Promotion of investment in electricity industry

Reorganization and restructuring of electricity industry in the State

Matters concerning generation, transmission, distribution and trading of electricity or any other matter referred to the State Commission by that Government.

3.     The State Commission shall ensure transparency while exercising its 

         powers and discharging its functions.

4.     In discharge of its functions, the State Commission shall be guided 

        by  the National Electricity Policy, National Electricity Plan and  Tariff  

        Policy published under section 3.


The Commission:


The Commission is a Joint Commission setup under Article 83 of the Electricity Act, 2003. The Joint Commission is a two Member Commission, one member each from the participating States from Manipur and Mizoram. As stipulated in the Memorandum of Agreement, the headquarters of the Joint Commission is Aizawl. The Chairperson is appointed from amongst the Members by rotation for a tenure of 1 (one) year. Er. Benjamin L. Tlumtea, Member representing from Mizoram side is appointed as Member of the Commission for a period of 1(one) year w.e.f 07.03.2024 or until he attains the age of 65 years whichever is earlier. Mr. Rengthanvela Thanga, as Chairperson of the Commission on 25.1.2023, representing from Manipur side for a period of 5(five) years or till he attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. The Office of the Commission has been working from a rented building at TBL Bhawan, 2nd - 5th Floor, E - 18, Peter's Street, Khatla, Aizawl, Mizoram-796001 The Commission office is equipped with a Conference Hall/Court Room for conduct of hearing petitions and appeals and holding Conference and Meetings, etc.